New Faculty Orientation

Each August and January, the Office of the Provost hosts New Faculty Orientation (NFO) to help arriving colleagues identify and make use of the many resources available to support their work, and to become familiar with UNM policies and processes. New faculty should consult the Office for Academic Personal New Faculty Page for first steps!

For new lecturers, tenure-stream (assistant, associate, and full professor ranks), research faculty, professors of practice, and full-time instructors employed at the Albuquerque campus, the next orientation will be on Monday August 14, from 8:00 to 3:30 pm, in the Student Union Building (SUB) Ballroom C. Faculty in these categories employed at UNM Branch Campuses should contact the corresponding branch Dean of Instruction for information on orientation.

The agenda includes:

  • Who are UNM students?
  • Support for effective teaching
  • Anti-discrimination norms and policies
  • UNM Libraries
  • Research supports
  • Safety
  • Supports for Graduate Students
  • Support services for faculty – Employee Assistance, Ombuds Services
  • UNM Bookstore
  • Student Accessibility Services and Policies

For all temporary and part-time faculty, orientation will be from Tuesday, August 15 from 8:30 to 12:30 pm, in the Collaborative Teaching and Learning Building (CTLB), room 300 (Building 55 on the UNM central campus map). In-person attendance is strongly encouraged; however, there will be a Zoom session for this orientation for colleagues who cannot attend in person.

All new faculty starting in August should plan to attend and should register to receive details regarding orientation by completing the form below.

ADVANCE at UNM maintains a New Faculty Welcome Page with individual profiles of new faculty members, information about NFO, and a welcome message from UNM Provost James Holloway. If you are a new faculty member, look for an invitation from ADVANCE to contribute a photo and answer a short questionnaire to complete your profile.

Meanwhile, welcome to the UNM faculty!